Nonsensical Arbitrary Moniker for Everyone: NAME

“What’s your name,’ Coraline asked the cat. ‘Look, I’m Coraline. Okay?’
‘Cats don’t have names,’ it said.
‘No?’ said Coraline.
‘No,’ said the cat. ‘Now you people have names. That’s because you don’t know who you are. We know who we are, so we don’t need names.”

― Neil Gaimain, Coraline

What is my name? Is it what is written on my birth certificate or is it the pet-name my parents affectionately called me by? Is it one of the several nicknames my friends called my while growing up or is it the monogram that I sign?  I agree, that there may be some truth in each of these cognomen but they don’t portray the whole picture- me.
Cogito ergo sum (I think, therefore I am).
But even that’s only one side of the coin. Now, you’ll ask me, “what’s the other side?” and I say, ” I do, therefore I am!” . 
I. We. All of us! People are what we think and what we do. What makes us “Us” are our thoughts and actions in this world and how we impact others around us – like you and me – and our bloggiverse!! We will be remembered for lots of things – our notions,deeds (sometimes financial), predilections, mannerisms ,tic and quirks to name a few – rarely for our names. In the entirety of this spatio-temporal universe, where we are but a speck, does my sobriquet really matter?
So why shackle me to a name my friend, for I wish to be free !
3 comments

  1. Natso · September 17, 2014

    Really digging the futuristic theme. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

A cup of tea??

