Sands of time: Too fast, too slow

Daily prompt: Pace Oddity

If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?

After today’s daily prompt *Light bulb* I knew exactly what I wanted to write – Yay!

This would also be my first official NaPoBloMo post !! So double yay !!

***

Caught up – dashing,

reaching no where painstaking;

To accomplish and achieve,

the rewards you recieve;

Thoughts fixed on the destination,

the journey undertaken, finished with lightning acceleration;

Rats stuck in a never ending maze,

ideation boxed up – minds dazed;

Tortured by scrutiny, senseless,

time slowly drags, often endless;

Fettered to trivality,

blindfolded, the charming reality;

Halt! Stop! Run! Breathe,

Look! See! Fly! Dont seethe;

One life, my friend,

Stand out – do not blend;

Feel the wind exhale,

the sea waves scale;

Sense the leaves of the trees brush,

the wetness of dew drops, the grasses crushed;

Breathe in the crisp of winter air,

warm up to the summer flare;

Make the joys expand,

and sadness fly on time’s sand;

My friend, feel alive,

just as I feel my cancer thrive;

Hold on to your journey a bit longer,

I scramble -mine leeched by a tumour;

Don’t rush your time – live a man,

Alas, how I wish I can!

Queens market_leeds_bnw_stright copy

2 comments

  1. MillarDKits · November 2, 2014

    Nicely done! Great to see you along for the #NaBloPoMo challenge. One of your early lines had me thinking of Smashing Pumpkins’ Bullet with Butterfly Wings (Despite all my rage I am still in a rat in a cage!). More appropriate to your post’s theme, I’ll leave you with an Einstein quote:
    Spend an hour with a pretty girl and it will seem like a minute. Spend a minute sitting on a hot stove and it will seem like an hour (that’s relativity!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Evolving ruminations · November 2, 2014

      hahaha ! Agreed – Einstein did nail it 😀 It’s all in our heads isnt it ? Ooh just googled the song – fantastic lyrics!!

      Liked by 1 person

A cup of tea??

