Philosophy of life – views of a cafe owner

Considering my busy, panicked , stressful and ever-so-busy schedule, which I made so obvious in my previous post, I was rushing towards work today, my attention was heavily focussed on minimising the time of a journey which I’d taken a million times already and assessed, evaluated and practised the most efficient route of travel. In the midst of this stretching my brain to the limits of its introspective endurance for the shave of a few milliseconds, I suddenly heard a loud rumble! The growling steadily grew louder with each step and I realised it wasn’t an elusive dog trying to distract me – it was in fact my stomach!

For all the preparedness, commitment and efficiency that I vowed to practise, I had forgotten one key element – my hunger! To keep a happy me, my stomach must be fed ! My promenading came to a stop as my brain lost its speeding endeavour and my head gaped frantically from left to right in search for an energy boost – something to quench the pangs of hunger clawing away at my soul!  Suddenly, out of nowhere, popped out an Italian eatery – the mere sight a happy carnival to my famished eyesight. Like the road runner I zoomed into the eatery and panted out my order of a Mocha and a ginormous falafel and a salad ciabatta, humous dribbling from the sides ( I’m trying to eat healthy – obviously. But the giant size of the sandwich? What size?  Size is just a state of mind! Bah). As the sweet aroma of the coffee mingled with the heavenly grilled scent of the ciabatta filled the air, the cafe owner, on seeing my stress crumpled face, he took pity on me and asked me how my day was. The conversation that followed was quite unexpected and my punctuality went out of the window!

Cafe owner (CO) : “How is your day? You all right? ”

Me: “Sort of, going to work today…”

CO: “Work ? On a weekend?”

Me: *sighs heavily* “Yes, it was the same last weekend, I’ve been working 12 hour days the rest of the week too !”

CO: “Oh dear, you must be tired !”

Me: “Yeah, how is your day? Hopefully better than mine, I know you are working but… ”

CO : “It’s actually quite today, its crazy on weekends!!”

Me: “Yeah, I imagine it must be ! The queues here at lunch time are insane – I once brought a friend in this area for lunch and we ended up waiting for a whole hour !”

CO: * worried look* “Was it my shop?”

Me: “No, it was some place on the other side of the station !”

CO: * visibly relaxes* “Oh , good, because usually here we aim to serve our customers in no more than 5 minutes – my staff  and I work diligently on that ! It’s important to take care of customers.”

Me: “Oh, that’s fantastic, you seem to have good  staff, its difficult to find reliable people these days, one of my friend has a lot of trouble hiring people she can depend on for her shop!”

CO: ” Yes I agree, it has become difficult to find people reliable enough, not all hope is lost though, look at me. ” *grins* ” tell your friend that !”

Me: “Yes, I will, but I guess its important to treat your staff well too she says, otherwise no one stays!”

CO: “Well, your friend is very very true, its important to keep your staff happy, but don’t go overboard with it! You need to keep track of your business too – if you are paying more than you get, its clearly missing something! think don’t be blind.”

Me: ” Yes, especially in this lace, where you have so much competition, a cafe around every corner! ”

CO: ” Yes, you need to keep up. You need to keep your eyes and ears open, if something is not right with your business you need to correct it and if its not working out, be practical- stop it, go work for someone else – its pretty much the same.”

Me: ” You seem to have thought about things (and people) a lot! What’s your philosophy in life?”

CO: ” It’s quite simple, really. Treat your customers and your staff well – its important to treat people well in life, we live in a world of people, you cannot escape them.”

Me: ” That’s profound, thanks for the interesting talk and great coffee!”

I smiled as I walked my way towards the station, my thoughts going back to his philosophy of life – treat your customers and staff well. This can be applied to a lot of things in life, especially our relationships where our loved ones are our customers and staff at the same time – it’s important to treat them well but not to go overboard, its important to be practical in life – if something is not right, figure out what and try to fix it and if it cant be fixed, move on!

What an enlightening coffee today – who knew I’d learn something so profound?  Oh damn, I’m 30 mins late * starts running*

5 comments

  1. Snoskred · November 17, 2014

    Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    Conversations can be so fascinating if we just push ourselves to start them. 🙂 I struggle a bit with that but each time I do it I always am thankful I did. 🙂

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts. You may see me drop by again during November, but it might be December before I finish my first drop by to blogs if I don’t get faster at leaving comments. 🙂

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

    • Evolving ruminations · November 30, 2014

      Hey !! Thanks a ton !! Apologies for not being able to reply earlier, as you might have noticed from my last two posts, I’ve been quite busy, literally to the point of sleeping at my workplace… However, I am back not and I want to complete the NaBloPoMo challenge – hence I’ve enrolled again for December! Hoping I wont let my readership down this time around!! Looking forward to checking out your blog too 🙂

      Like

  2. Saya · December 26, 2014

    loved the message that evolved from the conversation….it is so easy really to treat people well rather than shit…in personal relations, it comes to not taking others for granted…in professional..it is treating people with respect rather than looking them down..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Evolving ruminations · December 26, 2014

      Thanks Saya, I agree – I’ve been on the recieving end and know its not nice so yeah , I try to take one step at a time towards improvement everyday 🙂 its amusing though how we show our worst sides to people we love the most … Got another post on that conig up hopefully soon !!

      Like

      • Saya · December 26, 2014

        I think we show the worst and best to people close..coz there is a trust that they will probably understand or forgive.. 🙂

        Like

A cup of tea??

